A little bit of Heaven on earth


We focus on New York state here on Unchained Restaurants. But in search of the summer that never was, I headed south with the family to Myrtle Beach, S.C., and to our nation’s capital.

index.1We definitely found summer as the sultry conditions kept us on the beach or ensconced in an air conditioned museum or, yay, a restaurant.

We found a little slice of heaven in a restaurant called Hog Heaven. Either you’re chuckling right now or groaning. Hard to tell from here.

But you should chuckle a bit and then try out this funky eatery if you ever go to Myrtle Beach. It is on Route 17, south of  Pawleys Island, about a 20-minute ride from much busier MB.

It is unpretentious. I think that’s the right word. It also was the perfect place for my family and about 15 of my cousins to slide right in and eat at the buffet, which for adults is an incredibly low $8.95 each.

And what a buffet. A Southern buffet. Delicious fried chicken. Great pork barbecue that you can garnish with four different types of barbecue sauce, all vinegar-based, which I’m not used to at all but which I really liked for its tangy flavor.

I had a sweet potato casserole that was part veggie and part pie. Okra, pinto beans, collards, brussell sprouts, baked beans, and a fabulous cole slaw were all available.

And that dietetic dessert delight, banana pudding, was there to round things out.

Boy, was it good. Luckily I had spent the morning frolicking in the Atlantic Ocean, so I didn’t feel too guilty about eating my way through the menu.

The restaurant is not on the exclusive Pawleys Island, but it is close to the shops where you can buy the famous Pawleys Island hammocks. We passed on the hammocks, but earlier I had bought a Piggly Wiggly T-shirt, my prized souvenir from south of the Mason-Dixon line.

I’ll have to post a picture of that one day, it’s a winner.

2 thoughts on “A little bit of Heaven on earth

  1. Many years ago in Florida I went to a buffet where you stood still and the food moved around a huge table. Different. Loads of food, great price!

Leave a Reply

